Is Cross Over Symmetry Worth the Money?

Many of you have probably see or heard of Crossover Symmetry and their promise to build bullet proof shoulders through their combination of exercise bands and exercise protocols.  If you go to their website, you will quickly recognize that they have done an excellent job at packaging and positioning this product.

As someone who has struggled with a cranky right shoulder for over 25 years, I am always open to anything that will keep my shoulders in a better mood.  While I am acutely aware of the “little things” I should be doing to maintain healthy shoulders, many of those things are simply not as fun as lifting heavy weight overhead.  So, they rarely get done.

With all this in mind, I was ready to pull the trigger the moment I saw Crossover Symmetry until I clicked to shop and saw the novice package started at $240 while the Elite and Competitor Packages bumped the price tag up to $280.

It is important to point out that I am not averse to overpaying for things that I like especially when they relate to working out.  I am highly skilled at justifying any purchase of exercise equipment.  Sitting at my laptop looking at a cool piece of fitness equipment, I can easily convince myself that this is the one thing between me and a 300 pound snatch…even if it is simply a new pair of shorts.

I am fine to pay extra for cool factor, for brand, or even if it is a company that I want to support.  So, if the Crossover Symmetry package was even $150, it would likely be in my gym right now.

After looking at what you get for the money (taken directly from the website):

  • Training Guide – 32 pages
  • Training Video
  • Double-sided Aluminum Exercise Chart
  • 3 pairs of Crossover Cords – Choose Novice, Competitor, or Elite resistance package
  • Set of 4 SRS – Squat Rack Straps
  • Pair of Chart Hooks
  • Drawstring Backpack

So…still in the ‘justify the purchase’ mode, I am trying to justify why Crossover Symmetry is worth $300. Fortunately for my Mastercard, but unfortunately for the voice inside screaming “Buy It!!!” I just can’t.

Crossover Symmetry Training Guide

Let’s take a look at the 32 page crossover symmetry training guide.

A quick search on Amazon results in the Healthy Shoulder Handbook for $13.02 that includes over 100 exercises to treat and prevent shoulder injuries.

Health Shoulder Handbook Cover

Crossover Symmetry Training Video 

The training video is a useful tool to ensure that you are doing everything correctly.  There is definitely value in that.  However, I also found a youtube video for the Crossover Symmetry IronScap program that foot the bill at no charge.

Crossover Symmetry Wall Chart

Not horribly clear, but you can find an image of the wall chart with the exercises here.

Crossover Symmetry Crossover Cords

The package seems to be the most tangible piece of the Crossover Symmetry package and it would be reasonable to think that this is where most of your cost lies.  But, again, a quick search of amazon find me this entire package for $45.

So, based on some simple math and even allowing for some cool factor premium (because make no mistake this is a cool product), I think one could justify spending between $120-$150 for Crossover Symmetry without batting an eyelash.

For me though, even though I am a credit card quick draw when online shopping for workout stuff…double that is simply too high of a price to justify.

All that being said though, I still feel tempted…I would love to hear your thoughts on the benefits of the Crossover Symmetry package vs. off the shelf resistance bands.

Let me know what you think…is Crossover Symmetry worth the money?

Until next time.

Leave a comment